The governing body of any school has three main functions:

  • To ensure a clear vision and direction for the future of the school.
  • To hold the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school.
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and to ensure that its money is well spent.

In practice this means working with the staff to support them and to challenge them to make sure that the school provides the best possible education for every child. The school’s aim is to help all pupils to achieve their full potential within a caring Christian environment, thus preparing them for life beyond their primary education.

The full governing body meets each half term, with various sub-committees overseeing areas such as staffing, finance, pupil attainment, health and safety etc meeting as and when required.

The governing body comprises Representatives from each of the key groups involved in the school – staff, parents, the Church, local authority and the local community. Some are appointed, some elected and the normal term of office is four years.

We are always keen to hear your views or answer any questions you may have. There is a formal opportunity to do so at our AGM (held in the summer term) but in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact any of us via the school with any comments or queries and we will do our best to help.

Debbie Mould
Chair of Governors

Governing Body

Name Type of Governor
Mrs Deborah Mould Chair of Governors, Foundation Governor – DBE Representative
Mrs Angela Burdsall Foundation Governor – DBE Representative
Mrs Janet Gaskell Foundation Governor – PCC Representative
Mr Dean Kinsella Foundation Governor – PCC Representative
Rev Heather Short Foundation Governor – Ex-officio
(vacancy) Foundation Governor – PCC Representative
Mrs Donna Davies Parent Governor
Mr Mark Herbert Parent Governor
Mrs Sophie Allen LA Representative
Mr Martin Lewis Co-opted Governor
Mrs Elizabeth Alty Deputy Headteacher
Mrs Louise Layton Staff Representative
Mrs Claire Lemar Clerk to the Governors

LA = Local Authority; PCC = Parochial Church Council; DBE = Diocesan Board of Education.

Also see: Governor Committees and Interests (pdf)